Christina's Country

The Magickal, Merry Meanderings of Gypsy Soul!

My Favorite Knitted Sock Pattern

Socks in Peaches

I tried to knit socks. I really wanted to, but every pattern I tried that promised to be sure fired and never fail, failed miserably at a number of things:

A) I could never figure out the sizing.

B) When I would get to the heel, the pattern seemed to turn into unintelligible gibberish and I inevitably ended up ripping the whole thing apart (aside from the one time I soldiered through and ended up with a somewhat deformed sock the size of a smallish Christmas stocking… Not really useful!)

View of the shape from the side   Well folks, this pattern will solve all you ills! Hard to reckon  sizing… Not a problem! A simple hourglass heel design, PLUS… Just look at the side of the heel! So tight! No big holes here! And flexible? Well, after a pair or two, you’ll be able to figure out all kinds of ways to use different yarn and designs too!

Now I bet you’re wondering what miracle sock pattern this is, and Nice tight heelI’m gonna tell you! It’s a little pattern called the “Easy Toe Up Sock Pattern” from a strange sounding web site called Momogus Knits!

It is not free, but it is well worth the $5 AND it is an instant down load, which you can print out and keep forever! This little pattern will make your sock knitting dreams come true!

I have used it to make men’s and women’s socks in different yarns. It is just so forgiving. The pair I started this past week, shown here, are done in Dubois, a 100%Merino, hand painted and dyed sock weight yarn from Mountain Meadow Wool Mill. 100% Made in America! The colorway is Peaches.  I sell this yarn, and lots of others, in my little on line shop ( a girls got to make a living!)

I just fell in love with it the moment I opened the box and grabbed two skeins for myself. I knit the pattern as described until I finished the heal work and then I decided to do a 2X2 ribbing until I run out of yarn!  I so miss nice, long socks in the colder months, and they are getting so hard to find. I figured that the extra ribbing would help keep ’em up where they belong!

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “My Favorite Knitted Sock Pattern

  1. Hello. impressive job. I did not imagine this. This really is a fantastic story. Thanks!

  2. Beautiful! Sock knitting is addictive once you learn the basics!

    • So true! Every pair you make gives you new ideas! That’s why I so appreciate a good, basic pattern… Like now, i am working on a “Read Road” design based on the Momogus basic toe up pattern.

Leave a Reply

